The Journey Of Our National Flag And 11 Interesting Facts

The Journey Of Our National Flag And 11 Interesting Facts

It is really amazing to see the various changes that our National Flag went through since its first inception

It was discovered or recognised during our national struggle for freedom. The evolution of the Indian National Flag sailed through many vicissitudes to arrive at what it is today. In one way it reflects the political developments in the nation. Some of the historical milestones in the evolution of our National Flag involve the following .


The Journey Of Our National Flag

Unofficial flag of India in 1906

The first national flag in India is said to have been hoisted on August 7, 1906, in the Parsee Bagan Square (Green Park) in Calcutta now Kolkata. The flag was composed of three horizontal strips of red, yellow and green. The red strip at the top had eight white lotuses embossed on it in a row. The green strip had a white sun on the left and a white crescent and star on the right.

The Berlin committee flag, first raised by Bhikaiji Cama in 1907

The second flag was hoisted in Paris by Madame Cama and her band of exiled revolutionaries in 1907 (according to some inl9OS). This was very similar to the first flag except that the top strip had only one lotus but seven stars denoting the Saptarishi. This flag was also exhibited at a socialist conference in Berlin.

The flag used during the Home Rule movement in 1917

The third flag went up in 1917 when our political struggle had taken a definite turn. Dr. Annie Besant and Lokmanya Tilak hoisted it during the Home rule movement. This flag had five red and four green horizontal strips arranged alternately, with seven stars in the saptarishi configuration super-imposed on them. In the left-hand top corner (the pole end) was the Union Jack. There was also a white crescent and star in one corner.

The flag unofficially adopted in 1921

During the session of the All India Congress Committee which met at Bezwada in 1921 (now Vijayawada) an Andhra youth prepared a flag and took it to Gandhiji. It was made up of two colours-red and green-representing the two major communities i.e. Hindus and Muslims. Gandhiji suggested the addition of a white strip to represent the remaining communities of India and the spinning wheel to symbolise progress of the Nation.

The flag adopted in 1931. This flag was also the battle ensign of the Indian National Army

The year 1931 was a landmark in the history of the flag. A resolution was passed adopting a tricolor flag as our national flag. This flag, the forbear of the present one, was saffron, white and green with Mahatma Gandhi’s spinning wheel at the center. It was, however, clearly stated that it bore no communal significance and was to be interpreted thus.

The present Tricolour flag of India

On July 22, 1947, the Constituent Assembly adopted it as Free India National Flag. After the advent of Independence, the colours and their significance remained the same. Only the Dharma Charkha of Emperor Asoka was adopted in place of the spinning wheel as the emblem on the flag. Thus, the tricolour flag of the Congress Party eventually became the tricolour flag of Independent India.

11 Interesting Facts About Our National Flag

Evolution of  flag

  1. The first version of the current national flag was made by Pingali Venkayya at Bezwada in 1921. It was made by two colours red and green-representing the two major communities. Gandhi ji suggested the addition of a white strip to represent the remaining communities of India and the spinning wheel to symbolise progress of the Nation.
  2. Formally adopted on 22nd July, 1947
  3. Khadi is the only material allowed in the manufacture of the National Flag. Any other material, if used, is a punishable offense as per the laws of the country
  4. The ratio of the Indian flag’s width to its length is two to three
  5. When a foreign dignitary travels in a car provided by government, the flag should be flown on the right side of the car while the flag of the foreign country should be flown on the left side.
  6. When the Indian flag is flown on Indian territory along with other national flags, the general rule is that the Indian flag should be the starting point of all flags.
  7. Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha based in Hubli is the only licenced flag production and supply unit in India.
  8. The government approves only 9 different sizes for the Indian flag. They are (in mm) 6300 x 4200, 3600×2400, 2700×1800, 1800×1200, 1350×900, 900×600, 450×300, 225×150, and 150×100
  9. Before granting Independence it was Lord Mountbatten who pushed for the partition India into India and Pakistan.
  10. Evolution of flag
  11. Countries like Bahrain, South Korea, North Korea and Republic of the Congo share their Independence day with India.
  12. The current flag has three colours in it. The top strip saffron stands for courage and sacrifice; the middle portion white for peace, truth, purity and green for faith, fertility and chivalry. The Ashok Chakra at the centre of the flag — righteousness.

What do you think?

Written by Menka

A creative mind with creating the beautiful things.After having experienced in the field of human resource management and business development with various prestigious organizations, now she is the founder and chief editor of whizind. She is very much passionate about writing and exploring new things.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Is Demonetisation "A Deliberate Government Policy" To Handle

Is Demonetisation “A Deliberate Government Policy” To Handle